Canadian flagspacerGovernment of Canada | Gouvernement du CanadaCanada wordmark
spacerspacer
Français Contact us Help Search Canada site
Canadian Biodiversity Information Facility
Maple Leaves

ITIS
Biological name search


Species Access
Canadian specimen information network


Online mapping

SpeciesBank

FBIP


Maple Leaves
SpeciesBank | Butterflies | Alphabetical index | Taxonomic index | Glossary
Family Papilionidae | Subfamily Papilioninae | Previous | Next

Black Swallowtail
Papilio polyxenes Fabricius, 1775

butterfly image
Click on image
for larger view

Diagnosis: The wings are black with a row of submarginal yellow spots. There is also a row of yellow crescent-shaped spots on the margins of the hindwing. The female differs from the male in having the submarginal band of spots small or non-existent and in having the blue submarginal band of the hindwing larger; females, with their black and blue pattern, appear to mimic the Pipevine Swallowtail (Battus philenor). The Black Swallowtail has distinct orange eye-spots with black-centred pupils on the hindwings close to the tails. Wingspan: 52 to 94 mm.

Subspecies: Only subspecies asterius is found in Canada.

Range: The Black Swallowtail is at home in most areas of the eastern U.S. and ranges all the way to South America with several named subspecies. It reaches into Canada in three areas. In the west it can be found in southern Manitoba (one record from Saskatchewan), and in northwestern Ontario around Lake of the Woods, with three isolated records from the north shore of Lake Superior. It is common in southern Ontario and southern Quebec. The third area is the Maritimes, with records from all provinces except Newfoundland, from which no authenticated specimens are known, although it has mistakenly been reported in the literature.

map of CanadaSpecimen collection data
and dynamic map

Similar Species: The predominance of black on the wings and the orange spot on the lower corner of the hindwing with a black spot in the centre make this species easy to identify in most of eastern Canada. Identification is more difficult in the eastern Great Plains, where it hybridizes with machaon, and in the Maritime Provinces, where its range approaches that of brevicauda. [compare images]

Early Stages: The green larva has black bands dotted with orange or yellow spots on each segment. The pupa has both brown and green forms. Larvae feed on a wide variety of members of the parsley family (Apiaceae = Umbelliferae), including wild (Queen Anne's Lace) and cultivated Carrot (Daucus carota), Parsley, Dill, and Celery.

Abundance: The Black Swallowtail is fairly common in most parts of southern Ontario and Quebec, especially in abandoned farmland where its food plants grow wild; it is generally less common towards the edges of its range in the eastern Great Plains and in the Maritimes.

Flight Season: There are two broods annually. In most parts of its Canadian range, the first-generation adults emerge from the overwintering pupae in mid- to late May and fly until late June. The next brood emerges in mid-July and flies throughout August.

Habits: This handsome swallowtail is often found in and around gardens because of its larval foodplants and its fondness for flowers as an adult. In wilder areas it is usually seen near damp meadows and can be found occasionally sipping at wet sand.

Remarks: The Black Swallowtail appears to interbreed fairly regularly with its close relative the Old World Swallowtail (P. machaon) in Manitoba and Saskatchewan. The dark offspring, formerly thought to be a distinct species (Papilio kahli), are widespread in Manitoba, but scarce; they feed as larvae mainly on Heart-leaved Alexander (Zizia aptera) (Klassen et al., 1989).

© 2002. This material is reproduced with permission from The Butterflies of Canada by Ross A. Layberry, Peter W. Hall, and J. Donald Lafontaine. University of Toronto Press; 1998. Specimen photos courtesy of John T. Fowler.


Français | Contact Us | Help | Search | Canada site
Coming Events | About CBIF | Links | Reports and Publications | Home
Date Modified: 2010-05-31

Drapeau du CanadaspacerGouvernement du Canada | Government of Canadale mot symbole » Canada «
spacerspacer
English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
Système canadien d'information sur la biodiversité
Feuilles d'érable

SITI
Recherche de noms biologiques


Accès-espèces
Recherche de spécimens (réseau canadien)


Cartographie en ligne

Banque d'espèces

PFIB


Feuilles d'érable
Banque d'espèces | Papillons diurnes | Index alphabétique | Index taxonomique | Glossaire
Famille des Papilionidae | Sous-famille des Papilioninae | Précédente | Suivante

Papilio polyxenes
Fabricius, 1775
Papillon du céleri

image du papillon
Cliquer sur l'image
pour obtenir une vue plus grande

Description : Le dessus des ailes est noir, avec une rangée de taches submarginales jaunes. L'aile postérieure est ornée d'une bande submarginale bleue et d'une rangée marginale de croissants jaunes. Chez la femelle, les taches submarginales sont beaucoup plus petites ou absentes, mais la bande submarginale bleue est plus étendue. Avec leurs ailes noires maculées de bleu, les femelles semblent imiter le Battus philenor. L'aile postérieure est marquée d'un ocelle orange pupillé de noir près de la queue. Envergure : 52 à 94 mm.

Sous-espèces : Seule la sous-espèce asterius est présente au Canada.

Répartition géographique : Le Papilio polyxenes vole dans la plupart des régions de l'est des États-Unis et, vers le sud, jusqu'en Amérique du Sud. Plusieurs sous-espèces ont été décrites à l'échelle de son aire. Au Canada, il se rencontre dans trois régions distinctes. Dans l'Ouest, il est présent dans le sud du Manitoba (une mention en Saskatchewan) et le nord-ouest de l'Ontario, dans la région du lac des Bois (trois mentions isolées sur la rive nord du lac Supérieur). Il est commun dans le sud de l'Ontario et du Québec. Il vole également dans toutes les provinces Maritimes, à l'exception de Terre-Neuve, où sa présence n'a jamais été confirmée même si elle a déjà été signalée par erreur dans la littérature.

carte du CanadaDonnées sur les collections de spécimens
et carte dynamique

Espèces semblables : Dans la plupart des régions de l'est du Canada, le papillon du céleri se reconnaît facilement à ses ailes en majeure partie noires et à la tache orange pupillée de noir ornant le coin inférieur de son aile postérieure. Son identification soulève cependant certaines difficultés dans l'est de la région des Grandes Plaines, où il s'hybride avec le P. machaon, et dans les provinces Maritimes, où son aire rejoint presque celle du P. brevicauda; voir les analyses sous ces espèces. [images comparatives]

Stades immatures : La chenille est verte, annelée de noir. La bande noire qui orne chaque segment contient des taches orange ou jaunes. La chrysalide peut être brune ou verte. À l'état larvaire, le papillon du céleri se nourrit sur diverses plantes de la famille du persil (Apiacées = Ombellifères), dont la carotte sauvage et cultivée (Daucus carota), le persil, l'aneth et le céleri.

Abondance : Le papillon du céleri est passablement commun dans la plupart des régions du sud de l'Ontario et du Québec, en particulier dans les terres agricoles en friche où ses plantes hôtes poussent à l'état sauvage. Il est généralement moins commun à mesure qu'on s'approche des limites de son aire, dans l'est des Grandes Plaines et dans les Maritimes.

Période de vol : Le papillon du céleri produit deux générations par année. Dans la plupart des régions canadiennes où il est présent, la première génération émerge entre le milieu et la fin de mai, après avoir hiberné au stade nymphal, et vole jusqu'à la fin de juin. La deuxième génération émerge vers le milieu de juillet et vole durant tout le mois d'août.

Comportement et habitat : Ce beau porte-queue s'aventure fréquemment dans les jardins, les potagers et les terrains vagues adjacents à la recherche des plantes dont il se nourrit à l'état larvaire ou des fleurs dont il est particulièrement friand à l'âge adulte. Dans les régions plus sauvages, il est habituellement observé à proximité des prés humides et se désaltère parfois sur le sable humide.

Observations : Au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan, le papillon du céleri semble s'hybrider assez régulièrement avec le machaon, avec lequel il est étroitement apparenté. Autrefois considérés comme une espèce distincte (P. kahli), les individus foncés issus de ce croisement (planche 4, figure 14) sont répandus au Manitoba, mais peu communs. À l'état larvaire, ces hybrides se nourrissent sur la zizia des marais (Zizia aptera) (Klassen et al., 1989).

© 2003. Traduit de l'anglais avec la permission de Ross A. Layberry, Peter W. Hall et J. Donald Lafontaine (The Butterflies of Canada, University of Toronto Press; 1998). Photos de spécimens courtoisie de John T. Fowler.


English | Contactez-nous | Aide | Recherche | Site du Canada
À venir | À notre sujet | Liens | Rapports et publications | Accueil
Date de modification: 2010-05-31